Spooky Empire’s May-Hem

This past weekend I attended Spooky Empire’s May-Hem, a horror convention in Orlando, Florida.

397507_325146437595471_421960075_nNeedless to say, I had a blast. It was actually my first time attending a convention, let alone a Horror convention, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.

IMG_1699I was far from disappointed. May-Hem was a celebration of all things horror, with tons of vendors, panels, and celebrity guests of all kinds.

IMG_1708 IMG_1702 IMG_1703From commercial merchandise to handmade jewelry and paintings, the vendor floor was packed full of anything a horror fan could want. It took all my self control not to buy that baroque Frankenstein portrait up there, but I managed.

IMG_1704 IMG_1736They had everything from vintage toys to taxidermized bats…

IMG_1714 IMG_1735Horror dolls to leather helmets…

IMG_1732 IMG_1733And even full-sized statues and busts.

IMG_1739One of my favorite vendors sold rare DVDs and VHS tapes of some of the most vile horror and exploitation films ever released, proudly touting the depravity contained within.

IMG_1741And what horror con would be complete without a vendor selling bootleg DVDs? Going for $5 a pop, there was quite a selection… everything from dailies and workprints to TV specials and even unreleased films! And the quality’s not half bad, either. Sure, you could probably find most of this stuff on Youtube, but there’s a certain charm to these bootlegs and I couldn’t resist going home with a few. (More on that later)

IMG_1715And of course, a convention wouldn’t be a convention without celebrity guests.

DSC07211 IMG_1718The cast of the Warriors was there, and I got some of them to sign my copy of the video game.

IMG_1694 IMG_1723 IMG_1724 IMG_1763And of course, there’s tons of people in costume. From Jason Voorhees to Cobra Commander, the halls were filled with people in elaborate costumes.

IMG_1770 IMG_1774The Ghouligans were there too, partying the night away.

IMG_1695 IMG_1768Speaking of which, there were parties. Parties with quite a bit of drinking, and I’d be lying if I said I remembered much of them.

All in all, it was a great weekend. As someone who loves horror, Spooky Empire was a real treat. I definitely plan on going back next year.

But before I end this article, let’s take a look at the dumb crap I blew my money on!

IMG_1754Tales from the Cryptkeeper action figures! Now, Tales from the Cryptkeeper was an animated series from the 90’s, a sort of companion series to Tales from the Crypt. Of course, being animated, it was much lighter in tone than the dark and gory Tales from the Crypt. That said, it was a fun show, and got a neat little toyline to go with it. I nabbed two of them for $5 each… the Vampire, and the Gargoyle. They also had the Mummy and the Cryptkeeper himself, but I’m pretty satisfied with my choices.

IMG_1717And yes, I bought a few of the aforementioned bootleg DVDs. Firstly there’s Highway to Hell, which I’ve never heard of before and bought solely on the merits of its wonderfully terrible artwork. Then there’s Rawhead Rex, one of the earliest films written by Clive Barker. It’s terrible and has a scene where the titular demon pees on a guy, so naturally I needed to buy it.

The last two aren’t horror movies, but are notorious all the same. I got the 1994 Fantastic Four, a film so terrible that it was never actually released. And lastly, I got the 1974 TV special It’s a Bird… It’s a Plane… It’s Superman, which… hoo boy. It needs to be seen to be believed.

So that’s all for now. I hope you enjoyed! If you’ve got a horror con near you, I highly recommend you go. It’s well worth it.

It's beautiful.

It’s beautiful.

About Dinosaur Pirate

Is he a dinosaur? Or a pirate. Neither. BOTH.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spooky Empire’s May-Hem

  1. deathbeddecameron says:

    Rawhead Rex scared the shit out of me when I was a kid. Granted, it’s a bit campy in some spots… but, generally, I think it still holds up.

Share your thoughts!

