My Top 10 Magnets

I like magnets.

IMG_1601

Scratch that, I REALLY like magnets.

Magnets are great. They’re affordable, kitschy, and small enough to completely smother your refrigerator with. As you can see here, I have quite a few. I don’t own a single magnet I don’t love… but if I were to go through all of them, we’d be here all day. So here, in no particular order, are my ten favorite magnets.

Hi-C Ecto Cooler

IMG_1603

I’m kind of cheating with this one, since I’m counting both of them together. I couldn’t bear to choose one over the other, and quite frankly, they BELONG together.

We all loved Ecto Cooler… this green-colored tangerine beverage was a massive hit, long outliving the cartoon that spawned it. It’s gone now, but it still lives on in our hearts.

JAWS Bottle Opener

IMG_1605

Here we have a JAWS magnet that is also a bottle opener. Pretty much speaks for itself, so I really shouldn’t have to explain just how awesome it is. This was sold at the now-defunct JAWS ride in Universal Studios Orlando, so it also serves as a memorial of sorts.

TMNT: Chicks Dig Guys That Eat Out

IMG_1607

I still can’t believe this is a licensed product, but there it is. In case there was ever any doubt, we now know that the only reason April hangs out with the Turtles is because of their skill at cunnilingus.

This is beautiful.

Nintendo 64 Logo

IMG_1608

It goes without saying that the N64 is one of the best consoles of all time, Superman nonwithstanding. This was one of four N64 magnets, the others being Mario, Donkey Kong, and Bowser, all of which are delightfully off-model. I have them too, but this one’s my favorite of the bunch.

Superbad McLovin ID

IMG_1613

I think we can all agree that Superbad was fucking hilarious. This magnet pays homage to one of the most memorable characters of the film, and is just the right size for late-night drunken reenactments.

I Love Lucy: Vitameatavegemin

IMG_1610

The classic sitcom I Love Lucy lasted for 6 seasons and 181 episodes, and “Lucy Does a TV Commercial” was arguably the best. We all loved Lucy, and this magnet pays homage to one of the greatest episodes in television history.

Kongfrontation

IMG_1615

I have a thing for theme parks, both Universal and Disney alike. Kongfrontation closed in 2002 to make way for Revenge of the Mummy, but it was great while it lasted.

Kool-Aid Purplesaurus Rex

IMG_1617

Ecto Cooler isn’t the only beverage people want back. Purplesaurus Rex was a delicious mix of grape and lemon that Kool-Aid stopped making for some reason. You can try to mix grape and lemon Kool-Aid yourself, but it’s just not the same.

A Nightmare on Elm Street

IMG_1618

I’ve talked about my love of horror movies before, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I have a Nightmare On Elm Street magnet. Freddy’s looking great here, every bit the creep we fell in love with.

Rocko’s Modern Life

IMG_1621

It’s not in very good shape, but I’ve had this one since I was a child. These days, Rocko’s Modern Life is rightfully considered one of the raunchiest shows ever marketed to kids, but back then the jokes flew right over our heads. As far as we were concerned, it was just the wacky adventures of a wallaby and his friends.

Batman Logo

IMG_1626

Simple. Elegant. Classy. One of the reasons I like this one so much is because it reminds me of the 1989 Tim Burton film, still my favorite of the bunch.

And that’s it for now. Maybe I’ll discuss some of my other magnets in the future… I’ve certainly got more than enough.

About Dinosaur Pirate

Is he a dinosaur? Or a pirate. Neither. BOTH.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Top 10's and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts!

